Legal dating age in new hampshire

Added: Anndrea Sunseri - Date: 26.02.2022 20:52 - Views: 47708 - Clicks: 9877

Statutory rape is a serious crime and can carry penalties just as harsh as a standard rape conviction. If you have been accused of statutory rape or charged with a sexual assault offense based on a consensual relationship with someone who was underage, it is crucial that you consult an experienced sex crimes attorney right away. Speaking with a New Hampshire statutory rape lawyer who can protect your rights and speak on your behalf, may mean a world of difference to the outcome of your trial.

The Romeo and Juliet provision does not apply to children under age 13 who cannot legally give consent, regardless of how close in age the other party is. Only persons aged 16 and older can give consent to sexual contact with adults under New Hampshire law unless the two parties are legally married. In New Hampshire, the so-called Romeo and Juliet exception refers to relationships between teenagers and young adults who are close in age.

Specifically, this applies when the younger partner is at least 13 years old but younger than 16 years old, and the older partner is less than four years older than the younger partner. New Hampshire statutory rape lawyers can help potential clients defend any accusations they may be facing.

Under this provision, a teenager younger than 13 cannot consent to sexual contact. Anyone who engages in sexual contact with younger than 13 can be convicted of aggravated felonious sexual assault, a felony punishable by between 10 and 20 years in prison.

When the alleged victim is between 13 and 16 years old and the purported perpetrator is more than four years older than the victim, they may be charged with general felonious sexual assault under New Hampshire law. This is a class B felony punishable by between one and seven years in prison. A convicted statutory rape offender may be required to register with the New Hampshire sexual offender registry.

Regardless of the situation that led to statutory rape charges against you, you will need the assistance of a New Hampshire statutory rape lawyer. Statutory rape charges are not to be taken lightly. While the term may make some people think statutory rape is less serious than standard rape, the law in New Hampshire does not differentiate. The consequences of a statutory rape conviction can include harsh prison sentences and a lifetime requirement for sexual offender registration.

For this reason, it is essential that you contact a skilled statutory rape attorney as soon as possible after learning you may be facing statutory rape charges. Today. New Hampshire Statutory Rape Lawyer Statutory rape is a serious crime and can carry penalties just as harsh as a standard rape conviction. Age of Consent The Romeo and Juliet provision does not apply to children under age 13 who cannot legally give consent, regardless of how close in age the other party is. Aggravated Felony Charges Under this provision, a teenager younger than 13 cannot consent to sexual contact.

Sexual Offender Status A convicted statutory rape offender may be required to register with the New Hampshire sexual offender registry. Consulting with a Statutory Rape Attorney Regardless of the situation that led to statutory rape charges against you, you will need the assistance of a New Hampshire statutory rape lawyer. Practice Areas.

Legal dating age in new hampshire

email: [email protected] - phone:(890) 874-9544 x 4594

New Hampshire Statutory Rape Lawyer